Kalei’s cake smash! First Birthday session | New Jersey Photographer |Renee Romero Photography

Lately I’ve been working with so many little ones, which is definitely something I’m not used to even though I love working with them. So after photographing five mini sessions, and one newborn this month (7 kids total) I decided to pick the last session for the blog. Kalei’s cake smash session, which was only my second cake smash done, the first one being a week prior to her session. 

Throughout my experiences photographing one year olds I’ve come to understand that they are not always happy, sometimes all they want to do is hold on to mommy and daddy and want nothing to do with me, while others are happy and smiling but moving every direction I don’t want them to be. Cake Smash sessions yield the same results, they are just ten times more messy. 

We started off Kalei’s session with regular photographs of her. Then moved on to the photographs with the cake. IMG_1665wm IMG_1646wm

IMG_1678wmIMG_1699wm IMG_1711wm IMG_1722wmIMG_1697wmw IMG_1700wm IMG_1719wm  IMG_1729wm

I just loved so many of the photographs we took that I couldn’t only share the photographs her mom had chosen. And lastly I wanted to share one outtake from the session. Kalei kept running away from the cake and going to her mom, the result being this photograph of her mom covered in more frosting than Kalei was. IMG_1724wm

This session was a lot of fun to shoot, and I can’t wait to shoot more cake smash photographs in the future, and hopefully work with Kalei again. 

Want to see more photographs? Don’t forget to visit my website www.reneeromerophotography.com and like my photography page on Facebook www.facebook.com/reneeromerophoto

 

Also, I absolutely loved the little romper, and shoes that Kathleen chose to dress Kalei in, you can find both at the following etsy stores. 

http://www.etsy.com/shop/theprettyowl

https://www.etsy.com/shop/GigglesandWigglesBtq

 

 

Leave a comment